(First time) Chocolate sandwich cake!

Oh dear.

I made this cake a over week ago and I still haven’t posted this post yet. 

Oh dear. 

In all fairness I have been super busy these few weeks because I have exams coming up in school and I went camping for a few days too! (Excuses, excuses!) 

As the title of this post states, I had never actually made a layered cake before this one. I asked my mum to buy me two tins of the same size and also a piping set as I only had the one nozzle. And then I tried them out! Inspired by the look of Claire’s red velvet cake with white chocolate buttercream icing (at Art and Soul) I decided to have a go…

 The recipe I was following from the post at Art and Soul was supposedly for a red velvet cake but I didn’t have the amount of food colouring that the recipe asked for so, as you can see, the cake was just normal chocolate cake without the redness. It still tasted great though!

  The icing tasted nice however we ran out of icing sugar so instead the result tasted even more buttery than it was supposed to! The dark chocolate icing was added by me so that I could try out one (of many) new nozzle. I made few weird  swirly things and then handed the piping bag over to my dad, who was dying to have a go and improve my work.

The top of this cake was nicknamed ‘Poo City’ by my siblings and me. 💩

I think that the resemblance is pretty incredible! 💩

2 thoughts on “(First time) Chocolate sandwich cake!

Leave a comment